The Age of Aquarius

Astrology is ancient knowledge and there are different types of astrology practiced in different parts of the world. It has also been shrouded in secrecy over the ages to protect and preserve this sacred knowledge. There are discrepancies amongst astrologers as to whether we are in the Age of Aquarius or when it will start. However, we are more likely to be on the cusp of the Pisces/Aquarius Ages or in the early part of Aquarius as the transition is slow.

Constellation in Aquarius in 2019

Once every year, the Sun travels in its path (called the ecliptic) around the earth, passing through the twelve signs of the Zodiac on its journey. In Babylonian times, the Zodiac signs were named after the star constellations that the Sun passed through at that time of the year. The Sun passes through the celestial equator, the line separating the northern and southern half of the heavens, starting at a point called the Vernal Equinox. The Vernal Equinox begins in spring and in the first astrological sign of Aries. There is also an autumnal equinox which begins in the second half of the Zodiac in the sign of Libra. Astronomers talk of the constellations of stars in the sky for that sign whereas astrologers refer to the Zodiac sign with its characteristics. The constellations don’t match up with the signs due to the earth’s ‘wobble’ during the precession of equinoxes (the Earth’s tilt through the constellations in reverse order). The equinoxes take 25,820 years to pass through all the twelve signs. This 26,000 year timespan is referred to as a Great Year. It takes 2,100 years to transit through a sign. This timespan is called a Great Month or an Age. The Age of Aquarius began when the vernal equinox was in the constellation of Aquarius around A.D. 2000.

These are the Ages in astrology:

Age of Leo
Circa 10,000 B.C.-8,000 B.C.

The Neolithic or New Stone Age people of this Age lived in caves and fashioned tools from stone. They learnt agriculture. Astrologers think of the Age of Leo as the earliest written history for humans. The ruling planet of Leo is the Sun, source of light and heat. Fire was the source of energy of this Age.
Age of Cancer 
Circa 8,000 B.C.-6,000 B.C.

Cancerian influence is seen in the domesticity of this Age. People no longer lived in caves but in dwellings and communities. They progressed with agriculture, keeping livestock and domesticating animals. Cancer is ruled by the Moon which influenced spiritual rituals involving the Moon.
Age of Gemini
Circa 6,000 B.C.-4,000 B.C.

Inventions, travel, trade, record-keeping and development of different forms of communication influenced by Gemini ruled this Age.
Age of Taurus
Circa 4,000 B.C.-2,000 B.C.

Taurus is an earth sign and during this Age art and architecture developed. The pyramids, great feats of architecture, were built. Cultivation methods improved and various crops were mass produced.
Age of Aries
Circa 2,000 B.C.-1 B.C.

Aries rules metal iron and this Age is known as the Iron Age during which iron was mostly used to fashion weaponry for this military era.
Age of Pisces
Circa A.D. 1-A.D. 2,000

This was a turbulent Age of religious battles, suffering and struggles. The fish symbol of Pisces was the secret symbol of early Christianity. The spiritual influence of Pisces is seen in this Age.

Aquarius is a Zodiac sign of humanitarianism, scientific knowledge, invention, intellect, truth-seeking, hope and change. It is a Fixed sign with stubborn traits, anger issues and lack of emotion. Aquarius is an Air sign and it is thought that this Age will bear witness to advancements in space travel, electronics and communication. We have already seen the rolling out of 5G, the next generation of mobile broadband. Space tourism is a reality and is already being offered by the Russian Space Agency, with rivals not far behind.

Aquarius is a rebellious sign, the fore-runner for change and everything about the planet is changing. Pollution levels are alarming, with every part of the earth and its atmosphere affected. Global warming, risks of atomic power weaponry, humanitarian crises from war, disease and famine and the unknown risks of new technology and modified foods to health are major issues in today’s world.

Aquarians are humanitarians and have a desire to make the world a better place. The Age may bring unity and peace, though perhaps the stubbornness of the Aquarian influence will keep people inflexible to change and unable to value different viewpoints. Aquarians have trouble with demonstrations of emotions and intimacy. The Age of Aquarius has already begun in turmoil, war and poverty. Empaths and lightworkers are here to assist in bringing in a shift in higher consciousness, love for all and unity. A negative Aquarian trait is over-inflation of the ego and it is hoped the new era will bring in a change in our thinking and behaviours, dissolving past karmic traumas and more self-awareness.

Aquarius is the truth-seeker and there is an upsurge of interest in ancient knowledge which is now no longer thought arcane. Questions about who we are as a human race and where we came from have stirred our minds along with the increasing belief in aliens, UFOs, other planets with life, consciousness and our ability to influence our lives through our thoughts. Ancient arts such as yoga, Reiki, Tai Chi, reflexology, alternative or herbal medicine, positive thinking, meditation and plant-based diets, to name a few, are being credited for their physical, psychological and mental health benefits. Aquarius is ruled by Uranus, the planet of change, the unconventional and invention. It is also the planet of unconscious purpose and through union consciousness there is the promise of an era with a brighter future.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close